Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Learning from Six Philosophers Volume 2 - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Learning from Six Philosophers Volume 2

Jonathan Bennett


This book presents and analyses the most important parts of the philosophical works of Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz, Locke, Berkeley, and Hume. Volume 1: the shift from Aristotelian to Cartesian physics; Descartes on matter and space, on causation, and on certainty; Descartes and Spinoza on matter and mind, and on desire; Leibniz's metaphysics (monads) and physics, his theory of animals. Volume 2: Locke on ideas, on necessity, on essences, on substance, on secondary qualities, on personal identity; Descartes on modality; Berkeley's epistemology and metaphysics; Hume on ideas, on belief, on caus ... More

Keywords: Aristotle, Berkeley, Descartes, empiricism, epistemology, history of philosophy, Hume, Leibniz, Locke, metaphysics, philosophy of science, rationalism, Spinoza

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2001 Print ISBN-13: 9780198250920
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: November 2003 DOI:10.1093/0198250924.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Jonathan Bennett, author
retired, previously at the Universities of Cambridge and British Columbia, and at Syracuse University, New York