Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Electoral Systems and Democratization in Southern Africa$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Andrew Reynolds

Print publication date: 1999

Print ISBN-13: 9780198295105

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: November 2003

DOI: 10.1093/0198295103.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (oxford.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 17 October 2021

Majoritarian or Power‐Sharing Government

Majoritarian or Power‐Sharing Government

(p.105) 4 Majoritarian or Power‐Sharing Government
Electoral Systems and Democratization in Southern Africa

Andrew Reynolds (Contributor Webpage)

Oxford University Press

This is the last of four chapters that discusses the theoretical underpinnings of the research on democratization in southern Africa that is described in the book, as well as provides qualitative discussions of democracy in the five country case studies used: Malawi, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. It deals with the theoretical debate underlying the debate over majoritarian or power-sharing governments in divided societies. The ethos and defining institutional characteristics of five democratic types that have, at some stage, been advocated for use in the new democracies of southern Africa are outlined: three majoritarian (unadulterated, qualified, and integrative) and two power-sharing (consociational, and consensual (integrative)). The five main sections of the chapter are: Majoritarian Democracy (unadulterated and qualified; integrative); Power-Sharing Democracy (consociationalism; integrative consensual power-sharing); The Relevance of Presidentialism; Applying the Types to Fledgling Democracies in Southern Africa; and Prescriptions for Southern Africa.

Keywords:   case studies, consensual government, consociational government, democratic types, democratization, majoritarian governments, Malawi, Namibia, power-sharing governments, Presidentialism, South Africa, southern Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .