Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Jazz Changes$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Martin Williams

Print publication date: 1993

Print ISBN-13: 9780195083491

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2011

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195083491.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (oxford.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2020. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 25 September 2020

John Lewis: Spontaneous Restraint

John Lewis: Spontaneous Restraint

(p.55) John Lewis: Spontaneous Restraint
Jazz Changes

Williams Martin

Oxford University Press

John Lewis was an American jazz pianist and composer most famous for being the musical director of the Modern Jazz Quartet. The Modern Jazz Quartet, in its quarter of a century history, had risen to prominence as the most renowned, most critically acclaimed, and most durable small ensemble in the history of jazz. It is one of the greatest ensembles ever to have existd, that is other than the Duke Ellington orchestra. Lewis also provided the musical score to the documentary “De I'eau et de I'espoir” (Of Water and Hope), which tackles the assistance of American in Morocco's water conservation.

Keywords:   John Lewis, Modern Jazz Quartet, Duke Ellington orchestra, Of Water and Hope, Morocco

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .