Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Vaughan Williams on Music$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

David Manning

Print publication date: 2007

Print ISBN-13: 9780195182392

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2011

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195182392.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (oxford.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2020. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 26 September 2020

Sixth Symphony

Sixth Symphony

(p.363) Chapter 86 Sixth Symphony
Vaughan Williams on Music

David Manning

Oxford University Press

The Sixth Symphony was begun probably about 1944 and finished in 1947. It is scored for full orchestra including saxophone. There are four movements: Allegro, Moderato, Scherzo, and Epilogue. Each of the first three has its tail attached to the head of its neighbour. In Allegro, the key of E minor is at once established through that of F minor, A flat becoming G sharp and sliding down to G natural at the half bar. In Moderato, this leads on from the first movement without a break. The principal theme is based on this rhythm. Scherzo may be possibly best described as fugal in texture but not in structure.

Keywords:   Sixth Symphony, full orchestra, saxophone, movements, Allegro, Moderato, Scherzo, Epilogue

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .