Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Malcolm Boyd

Print publication date: 2006

Print ISBN-13: 9780195307719

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2011

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195307719.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (oxford.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 27 January 2021

Music for the Leipzig Liturgy

Music for the Leipzig Liturgy

(p.122) Chapter 8 Music for the Leipzig Liturgy

Malcolm Boyd

Oxford University Press

This chapter examines the church music composed by Johann Sebastian Bach for the Leipzig liturgy. More than half of the volume in the Bachgessellschaft edition of Bach's work are devoted and his most incomparable repertory written during the first five or six years of this tenure at Leipzig. This chapter describes the Leipzig composition of Bach including his cantatas, motets, and magnificats.

Keywords:   Johann Sebastian Bach, church music, musical composition, Leipzig, cantatas, motets, magnificats

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .