Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Federico Moreno Torroba – A Musical Life in Three Acts - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Federico Moreno Torroba: A Musical Life in Three Acts

Walter Aaron Clark and William Craig Krause


This book is the first-ever biography of one of Spain’s greatest musicians in the modern era. Composer, conductor, and impresario Federico Moreno Torroba (1891–1982) had a long and productive career, during which he witnessed many dramatic changes in the social, political, and cultural life of his homeland. And yet, despite the vicissitudes of Civil War, dictatorship, and the gradual return of democracy and prosperity, he remained firmly committed to his goal of composing Spanish music rooted in the fertile soil of regional folklore and the daily life of his fellow Spaniards, especially in his ... More

Keywords: spanish civil war, madrid, nationalism, guitar, zarzuela, folklore

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2013 Print ISBN-13: 9780195313703
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: May 2013 DOI:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195313703.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Walter Aaron Clark, author
University of California Riverside

William Craig Krause, author
Hollins University