Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
A Legal Geography of Yugoslavia's Disintegration$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Ana S. Trbovich

Print publication date: 2008

Print ISBN-13: 9780195333435

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: January 2009

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195333435.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (oxford.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2020. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 20 October 2020

The (Self-) Determination of the Yugoslav Peoples

The (Self-) Determination of the Yugoslav Peoples

(p.171) CHAPTER 4 The (Self-) Determination of the Yugoslav Peoples
A Legal Geography of Yugoslavia's Disintegration

Ana S. Trbovich

Oxford University Press

This chapter examines the right to self-determination of the peoples of Yugoslavia. The Constitution of the Socialist Federalist Republic of Yugoslavia (SFRY) limited “the right to self-determination, including secession” to six Yugoslav constituent peoples/nations: Slovenes, Croats, Muslims, Serbs, Montenegrins, and Macedonians. Yugoslav “nationalities”, the largest of which were the Albanians, did not enjoy the constitutional right to self-determination, including the right to secession (to be effected by means of constitutional amendments).

Keywords:   right to self-determination, Yugoslavia, Slovenia, secession, Croatia, Kosovo, Serbia

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .