Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Clarinet in the Classical Period$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Albert Rice

Print publication date: 2007

Print ISBN-13: 9780195342994

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: January 2010

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195342994.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (oxford.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 18 September 2021

Historical development

Historical development

The Clarinet in the Classical Period

Albert R. Rice

Oxford University Press

This chapter provides an overview of the classical clarinet's development, organized chronologically by country: France, Belgium, Germany, England, Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Italy, Spain, The Netherlands, Switzerland, and America. Many clarinet-makers are noted for each country, and individual instruments are examined. The important design contributions of Simiot, Müller, and Janssen are discussed; other sections are devoted to 18th- and 19th-century basset clarinets, and Anton Stadler's basset clarinet.

Keywords:   Michel Amlingue, Jean-Xavier Lefèvre, Carl August Grenser, George Miller, Thomas Collier, Jean-François Simiot, Iwan Müller, César Janssen, Anton Stadler

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .