Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Six Perfections – Buddhism and the Cultivation of Character - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

The Six Perfections: Buddhism and the Cultivation of Character

Dale Wright


In classical Mahayana Buddhism, the “six perfections—pāramitā—define the meaning of human enlightenment. Buddhist enlightenment is understood to be a particular way of being in the world, a way of being in which six distinct dimensions of human character have been cultivated to the level of excellence—generosity, morality, tolerance, energy, meditation, and wisdom. In this book, Dale Wright explores each of these six dimensions of character and the kinds of self‐cultivation that Buddhists correlate with them in order to assess the “six perfections” as ethical ideals suitable for contemporary g ... More

Keywords: philosophy, ethics, morality, Mahayana Buddhist, six perfections, enlightenment, pāramitā

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2009 Print ISBN-13: 9780195382013
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: February 2010 DOI:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195382013.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Dale Wright, author
Occidental College
Author Webpage