Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Party Competition in Indian States – Electoral Politics in Post-Congress Polity - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Party Competition in Indian States: Electoral Politics in Post-Congress Polity

Suhas Palshikar, K C Suri, and Yogendra Yadav


The political storm that swept Indian politics in the 1990s consolidated the post-Congress polity, a condition in which the Indian National Congress was no longer in a position to set the national agenda and ceased to be the central pole against which all other political parties were arrayed. Ever since, the states have emerged as the principal domain where electoral contests are fought, lost, and won. Focusing on electoral outcomes in twenty-four states between 2008 and 2013, this volume explores the complex dynamics of India’s electoral politics. The post-2008 phase is crucial as it saw the ... More

Keywords: party competition, state politics, post-Congress polity, electoral cycle, normalization, electoral volatility, anti-incumbency, effective number of parties, relevant parties, convergence, social cleavages

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2014 Print ISBN-13: 9780198099178
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: June 2014 DOI:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198099178.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Suhas Palshikar, editor
Professor, Department of Politics & Public Administration, University of Pune

K C Suri, editor
Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Hyderabad

Yogendra Yadav, editor
Senior Fellow, Centre for the Study of Developing Societies, New Delhi

Show Summary Details

subscribe or login to access all content.




Suhas Palshikar K.C. Suri Yogendra Yadav

1 Between Fortuna and Virtu

Yogendra Yadav Suhas Palshikar*

3 Rajasthan

Sanjay Lodha

4 Punjab

Ashutosh Kumar Jagrup Singh Sekhon*

6 Himachal Pradesh

Shreyas Sardesai

8 Delhi Elections

Biswajit Mohanty*

9 Uttarakhand

Annpurna Nautiyal

10 Uttar Pradesh

Mirza Asmer Beg Sudhir Kumar A.K. Verma

11 Bihar

Sanjay Kumar Rakesh Ranjan

12 Permanent Incumbency Shattered

Jyotiprasad Chatterjee Suprio Basu

13 Sikkim

Banasmita Bora

15 Nagaland

Amongla N. Jamir

18 Jharkhand

Harishwar Dayal B.K. Sinha

19 Madhya Pradesh

Yatindra Singh Sisodia

20 Chief Minister Wins Chhattisgarh for BJP

Anupama Saxena Praveen Rai

21 Survival in the Midst of Decline

Suhas Palshikar Rajeshwari Deshpande Nitin Birmal

22 Goa

Maria Do Ceu Rodrigues

23 Karnataka 2008–9

Sandeep Shastri Veena Devi

24 Andhra Pradesh

K.C. Suri P. Narasimha Rao V. Anji Reddy