Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Seven Metaphysical Poets – A Structural Study of the Unchanging Self - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Seven Metaphysical Poets: A Structural Study of the Unchanging Self

Robert Ellrodt


This study of seven poets challenges the postmodernist assumption that no definite or constant self can be traced in the works of a writer. Distinct modes of self-awareness, different emphases in the perception of time and space, and various ways of grasping the sensible and the spiritual, the human and the divine, jointly or separately characterize the minds of John Donne and George Herbert, Richard Crashaw and Henry Vaughan, Edward Herbert, Andrew Marvell, and Thomas Traherne. Fundamental mental structures affect their attitudes to love, death, and God, and dictate their privileged modes of ... More

Keywords: John Donne, George Herbert, Richard Crashaw, Henry Vaughan, Edward Herbert, Andrew Marvell, Thomas Traherne, self-awareness

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2000 Print ISBN-13: 9780198117384
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2011 DOI:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198117384.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Robert Ellrodt, author
Sorbonne Nouvelle

Show Summary Details

subscribe or login to access all content.