Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Creative Development of Johann Sebastian Bach Volume 1: 1695-1717 – Music to Delight the Spirit - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

The Creative Development of Johann Sebastian Bach Volume 1: 1695-1717: Music to Delight the Spirit

Richard D. P. Jones


This book gives an account of the individual works of one of the greatest composers. This first volume, the first of a two-volume study of the music of J. S. Bach, covers the earlier part of his composing career, 1695-1717. By studying the music chronologically a coherent picture of the composer's creative development emerges, drawing together all the strands of the individual repertoires (e.g., the cantatas, the organ music, the keyboard music). The book is divided into two parts, covering the early works and the mature Weimar compositions, respectively. Each part deals with four categories o ... More

Keywords: cantatas, organ music, keyboard music, preludes, fantasias, fugues, organ chorales, dating, authenticity

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2006 Print ISBN-13: 9780198164401
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: January 2009 DOI:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198164401.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Richard D. P. Jones, author
Music Editor