Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Intergovernmental Pillars of the European
                        Union - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

The Intergovernmental Pillars of the European Union

Eileen Denza


The Three-Pillars System of the European Union was intended to give flexibility to, and ultimately to extend, the area over which the EU could exert its influence. The Second and Third Pillars reflect a different level of integration and centralization, with the result that the Union can have input into the more politically sensitive and legally complex areas. The most well-documented pillar is the European Communities Pillar, where Community legislation takes place, and Community methods, rather th ... More

Keywords: European Union, European Communities, Community legislation, Community methods, intergovernmental pillars, foreign policy, security policy, justice, home affairs, Community Legal Order

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2002 Print ISBN-13: 9780198299356
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: March 2012 DOI:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198299356.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Eileen Denza, author
University College, London