Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Viennese Minor-Key Symphony in the Age of Haydn and Mozart - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

The Viennese Minor-Key Symphony in the Age of Haydn and Mozart

Matthew Riley


A very small proportion of eighteenth-century symphonies are in minor keys, yet they include some of the most dramatic and best-known works of the symphonic repertoire, such as Haydn’s “Farewell” Symphony and Mozart’s Symphony in G minor, K. 550. In Vienna and the Habsburg territories over fifty minor-key symphonies by at least eleven composers were written in the late eighteenth century. Their distinctive stormy character, nervous energy, and intense pathos make them a unique phenomenon of eighteenth-century instrumental music. This book combines historical perspectives with recent developmen ... More

Keywords: Haydn, Mozart, Symphony, Vienna, Analysis, Vanhal, Dittersdorf, Wranitzky, Koželuch, Wagenseil

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2014 Print ISBN-13: 9780199349678
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: August 2014 DOI:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199349678.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Matthew Riley, author
University of Birmingham