Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
An Introduction to Clinical Governance and Patient Safety$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Elizabeth Haxby, David Hunter, and Siân Jaggar

Print publication date: 2010

Print ISBN-13: 9780199558612

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: January 2011

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199558612.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (oxford.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 17 May 2021

Risk management standards

Risk management standards

(p.67) Chapter 8 Risk management standards
An Introduction to Clinical Governance and Patient Safety

Gaynor Pickavance

Oxford University Press

The NHS Litigation Authority (NHSLA) is a Special Health Authority established in 1995 to administer the Clinical Negligence Scheme for Trusts (CNST) and provide a means for NHS organizations to fund the cost of clinical negligence claims. It also covers clinical claims arising from incidents occurring before 1995, known as the Existing Liabilities Scheme (ELS). This chapter discusses claims data, NHSLA risk pooling schemes, NHSLA collaborations with other organizations, and the value of the NHSLA risk management standards.

Keywords:   NHS Litigation Authority, Clinical Negligence Scheme for Trusts, risk management, clinical negligence claims, patient safety, healthcare practice

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .