Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Forgotten Prime Minister: The 14th Earl of Derby – Volume I: Ascent, 1799–1851 - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

The Forgotten Prime Minister: The 14th Earl of Derby: Volume I: Ascent, 1799–1851

Angus Hawkins


This book gives a full biography of the 14th Earl of Derby — the first British statesman to become prime minister three times, and the longest serving party leader in modern British party politics. This book revises the conventional view of Derby's personality, career, and beliefs, revealing him as a complex and influential figure, a man who abolished slavery in the British Empire, established a national system of education in Ireland, was a prominent advocate for the 1832 Reform Act, and oversaw the introduction of the Second Reform Act in 1867. In short, he played an instrumental role in dir ... More

Keywords: Earl of Derby, prime minister, British Empire, Victorian politics, Conservative party, Victorian society, forgotten prime minister

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2009 Print ISBN-13: 9780199570911
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2011 DOI:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199570911.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Angus Hawkins, author
Director of International Programmes, Oxford University Department for Continuing Education, and Fellow and Bursar of Kellogg College, Oxford