Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
A New History of Ireland, Volume VIIreland Under the Union, II: 1870-1921$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

W. E. Vaughan

Print publication date: 2010

Print ISBN-13: 9780199583744

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: March 2012

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199583744.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (oxford.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 17 January 2021

The war of independence, 1919–21

The war of independence, 1919–21

(p.240) Chapter XI The war of independence, 1919–21
A New History of Ireland, Volume VI


Oxford University Press

This chapter focuses on the Irish War of Independence during the period from 1919 to 1921. It discusses the refusal of the newly elected Sinn Féin members of parliament to take their seats at Westminster and their decision to instead assemble in Dublin. The chapter explains the Sinn Féin members' creation of an executive government and their declaration of independence. It also describes the violent confrontation between Irish and British forces, and the pattern of assassination and counter-assassination.

Keywords:   War of Independence, Sinn Féin, Westminster, Dublin, executive government, independence, Irish forces, British forces, assassination

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .