Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Keys to JerusalemCollected Essays$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Jerome Murphy-O'Connor

Print publication date: 2012

Print ISBN-13: 9780199642021

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: May 2012

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199642021.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (oxford.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 21 January 2021

The Christian Quarter of Jerusalem

The Christian Quarter of Jerusalem

(p.219) 12 The Christian Quarter of Jerusalem
Keys to Jerusalem

Jerome Murphy‐O'Connor

Oxford University Press

Today the walled city of Jerusalem is divided into four quarters, Christian (north-west), Muslim (north-east), Armenian (south-west), and Jewish (south-east). The Christian Quarter is the oldest, and its institution probably inspired the others. William of Tyre is the only ancient author to tell its story. This chapter uses his text as the framework for the history and archaeology of the area. The only systematic account is that of Felix–Marie Abel in the monumental history of Jerusalem that he wrote with Louis–Hugues Vincent. That report, however, was published in 1926, and much has happened in the meantime, not least a new critical edition of William of Tyre.

Keywords:   Jerusalem, Christian Quarter, William of Tyre

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .