Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Draw a Straight Line and Follow ItThe Music and Mysticism of La Monte Young$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Jeremy Grimshaw

Print publication date: 2011

Print ISBN-13: 9780199740208

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: January 2012

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199740208.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (oxford.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2020. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 07 August 2020

The Ideology of the Drone

The Ideology of the Drone

La Monte Young the Mystic

3 The Ideology of the Drone
Draw a Straight Line and Follow It

Jeremy Grimshaw

Oxford University Press

This chapter examines how, in the 1960s, Young made the transformation from brash enfant terrible to musical mystic. It also explores how the development of Young’s mystical persona coincided with several important musical developments, including: his creation of The Four Dreams of China, his adoption of just intonation or ratio-based tuning, his involvement in the psychedelic scene, and his study with North Indian vocal master Pandit Pran Nath. Particular attention is paid to The Tortoise, His Dreams and Journeys and the activities of The Theatre of Eternal Music, the compositions associated with this ensemble, and the contentions that arose among members of the ensemble, particularly Tony Conrad and John Cale (later famous as a member of the Velvet Underground), regarding issues of authorship and authority. This chapter also follows Young’s study of North Indian classical music beyond the years of his study with Pran Nath into the present day and examines the activities of The Just Alap Raga Ensemble and Young’s protégé, Jung Hee Choi.

Keywords:   The Four Dreams of China, just intonation, psychedelia, Pandit Pran Nath, Indian music, The Theatre of Eternal Music, Tony Conrad, The Velvet Underground, Jung Hee Choi, Just Alap Raga Ensemble

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .