Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
After the Rite – Stravinsky's Path to Neoclassicism (1914-1925) - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

After the Rite: Stravinsky's Path to Neoclassicism (1914-1925)

Maureen A. Carr


After the Rite: Stravinsky’s Path to Neoclassicism (1914–25) traces the evolution of Stravinsky’s compositional process with excerpts from Rossignol, Three Pieces for String Quartet, Renard, Histoire du soldat, Étude for Pianola, Ragtime, Piano-Rag-Music, Symphonies of Wind Instruments, Concertino, Pulcinella, Mavra, Octet, Cinq pièces monométriques, Concerto for Piano and Winds, Piano Sonata, the Serenade in A. One of the goals of this monograph is to illustrate how musical sketches help to inform music analysis. The use of original sources, diplomatic transcriptions, and diagrams illustrate: ... More

Keywords: Igor Stravinsky, musical sketches, Renard, Histoire du soldat, Ragtime, Pulcinella, Mavra, Octet, Piano Sonata, Serenade in A

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2014 Print ISBN-13: 9780199742936
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2016 DOI:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199742936.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Maureen A. Carr, author
Pennsylvania State University