Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Marc BlitzsteinHis Life, His Work, His World$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Howard Pollack

Print publication date: 2012

Print ISBN-13: 9780199791590

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: January 2013

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199791590.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (oxford.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 27 February 2021

From Freedom Morning (1943) to the Airborne Symphony (1946)

From Freedom Morning (1943) to the Airborne Symphony (1946)

(p.277) 15 From Freedom Morning (1943) to the Airborne Symphony (1946)
Marc Blitzstein

Howard Pollack

Oxford University Press

This chapter examines Blitzstein’s compositions from these same years, most notably Freedom Morning, composed as a tribute to America’s black troops; and the Airborne Symphony, the largest orchestral work of the composer’s career and one triumphantly premiered by Leonard Bernstein (Orson Welles, narrating) in New York in 1946.

Keywords:   Freedom Morning, Airborne Symphony, Leonard Bernstein, Orson Welles

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .