Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Ancient Drama in Music for the Modern Stage$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Peter Brown and Suzana Ograjenšek

Print publication date: 2010

Print ISBN-13: 9780199558551

Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: April 2015

DOI: 10.1093/acprof:osobl/9780199558551.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (oxford.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Oxford University Press, 2020. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in OSO for personal use. date: 25 September 2020

Taneyev’s Oresteia

Taneyev’s Oresteia

(p.258) 14 Taneyev’s Oresteia
Ancient Drama in Music for the Modern Stage

Anastasia Belina

Michael Ewans

Oxford University Press

This chapter focuses on Sergey Taneyev's musical trilogy Oresteia (composed 1887–94, first performance 1895). The opera stands out from the rest of his large output, as well as from other late nineteenth-century Russian music, because of its choice of subject — Greek tragedy. Taneyev was the only composer of the period who was not only interested in ancient culture but actually completed a work based on such a source.

Keywords:   Sergey Taneyev, Oresteia, Greek tragedy, Russian opera

Oxford Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us .