Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Bach's Legacy – The Music as Heard by Later Masters - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Bach's Legacy: The Music as Heard by Later Masters

Russell Stinson


This book examines how four of the greatest composers of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries—Felix Mendelssohn, Robert Schumann, Richard Wagner, and Edward Elgar—engaged with the legacy of the music of J. S. Bach. It investigates the various ways in which these individuals responded to Bach’s oeuvre, not as composers per se, but as performers, conductors, scholars, critics, and all-around ambassadors. In its detailed analyses of both musical and epistolary sources, the book sheds light on how Bach’s works were received within the musical circles of these composers. The book’s narrative also ... More

Keywords: Bach, Mendelssohn, Schumann, Wagner, Elgar

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2020 Print ISBN-13: 9780190091224
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: June 2020 DOI:10.1093/oso/9780190091224.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Russell Stinson, author
Professor of Music, Lyon College