Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Analytical Essays on Music by Women Composers: Secular & Sacred Music to 1900 - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Analytical Essays on Music by Women Composers: Secular & Sacred Music to 1900

Laurel Parsons and Brenda Ravenscroft


This multi-author collection, the second to be published in an unprecedented four-volume series of analytical essays on music by women composers from the twelfth to the twenty-first centuries, presents detailed studies of compositions written up to 1900 by Hildegard of Bingen, Maddalena Casulana, Barbara Strozzi, Élisabeth-Claude Jacquet de La Guerre, Marianna Martines, Fanny Hensel, Josephine Lang, Clara Schumann, and Amy Beach. Each chapter opens with a brief biographical sketch of the composer, followed by an in-depth analysis of one representative composition or a small number of comparabl ... More

Keywords: music analysis, women composers, gender, music theory, musicology, early music, keyboard

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2018 Print ISBN-13: 9780190237028
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: October 2018 DOI:10.1093/oso/9780190237028.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Laurel Parsons, editor
Associate Professor of Theory and Composition, University of Alberta

Brenda Ravenscroft, editor
Professor of Music Theory and Dean, Schulich School of Music McGill University

Show Summary Details

subscribe or login to access all content.