Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Rethinking Prokofiev - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Rethinking Prokofiev

Rita McAllister and Christina Guillaumier


More than sixty-five years after the composer’s death and almost thirty years since the demise of the Soviet Union, it is high time not only to take a fresh, balanced look at the output of Sergei Prokofiev, but also to probe some of the important but less studied aspects of his music. Many of his works are twentieth-century classics, but some are less familiar; others still, because of the times in which he lived, are controversial, or misunderstood, or simply unexplored. Commissioned from both established experts and younger researchers in the field, Rethinking Prokofiev is a new compendium o ... More

Keywords: Russian composer-pianist, twentieth-century composer, Formalism, Socialist Realism, Communist Party of the USSR, Russian opera, Russian ballet, Soviet symphony, St. Petersburg Conservatory, Russian Silver Age

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2020 Print ISBN-13: 9780190670764
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: March 2020 DOI:10.1093/oso/9780190670764.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Rita McAllister, editor
Emeritus Professor, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Christina Guillaumier, editor
Head of Undergraduate Programmes, Royal College of Music, London

Show Summary Details

subscribe or login to access all content.



I Prokofiev and the Russian Models

1 Prokofiev and the Russian Tradition

Marina RakuTranslated by Rita McAllister and Gabrielle Cornish

II Prokofiev and His Contemporaries

4 “Monsieur Prokofieff”

Marina Frolova-Walker

6 Sergei Prokofiev and Levon Atovmian

Nelly KravetzTranslated by Rita McAllister and Laura Brown

III Music and Text: Prokofiev’s Relationship with His Literary Sources

8 Editing Prokofiev’s Seven, They Are Seven

Nicolas MoronTranslated by Christina Guillaumier and Rita McAllister

IV Drama and Gesture

14 “Yea, Though I Walk Through the Valley of the Shadow of Death . . .”

Natalia SavkinaTranslated by Rita McAllister and Maria McMinn

V Identity and Structure

VI The Reception and Afterlife of the Music