Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Beethoven 1806 - Oxford Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Beethoven 1806

Mark Ferraguto


Between early 1806 and early 1807, Ludwig van Beethoven completed a remarkable series of instrumental works including his Fourth Piano Concerto (Op. 58), “Razumovsky” String Quartets (Op. 59), Fourth Symphony (Op. 60), Violin Concerto (Op. 61), Thirty-Two Variations on an Original Theme for Piano (WoO 80), and Overture to Collin’s Coriolan (Op. 62). Critics have struggled to reconcile the music of this year with Beethoven’s so-called heroic style, the paradigm through which his middle-period works have typically been understood. Drawing on theories of mediation and a wealth of primary sources, ... More

Keywords: Ludwig van Beethoven, instrumental music, Vienna, patron, performer, piano, reception, mediation, microhistory

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2019 Print ISBN-13: 9780190947187
Published to Oxford Scholarship Online: September 2019 DOI:10.1093/oso/9780190947187.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Mark Ferraguto, author
Assistant Professor of Musicology, School of Music, Penn State University